Over the last couple of years, two terms have arisen to describe the type of eating disorder a person may have;  Pro-Ana and Pro-Mia. They have become part of an online community where they can discuss experiences and methods (tips and tricks) to lose weight.

Each website has a page devoted to what they call ‘Thinspiration’. This is basically a gallery of photographs of the thinnest celebrities.

 

 

The following is taken from the home page on Pro-ana-nation.com

“Prothinspo has the largest selection of diet, exercise and celebrity weight loss in the world. With a
thinspiration gallery to keep you motivated visually with Celebrity and Supermodel
Tips and Tricks to weight loss” [1]

Pro-ana eating chart [2]

Dying to be Thin… a pro ana blog Is a blog about a female celebrity (anonymousness) who struggles to keep to the desired ‘media’ weight limit. She constantly refers to other celebrities in her blog and speaks of the trouble she has trying to keep up with everyone else’s weight loss. She spokes constantly of ‘Joining the club’ and gives praise to those who have managed to become a successfull anorexic. There is one entry where she speaks of winning an award but is only worried about the six pound she had been forced to gain.

Sunday, July 19, 2009

After a very stressful few weeks, and a very naughty weekend, I am feeling quite… (how shall we say) unqualified to fit into my skinny jeans this week.

So, now that I feel like a lot of the heat has let off, it’s time for a good old-fashioned FAST. Just a little one, to see if anyone notices. It’s 6 pm here on the east coast, and I have a party to go to tonight, followed by 2 auditions tomorrow, and another party tomorrow night. Evenings are usually my gym-time, so without an outlet for my persistent anxiety, I feel like I’d rather control my food intake if I can’t get a grip on my energy output.

To keep eyebrows from raising, I’m going to try to keep pushing the fluids, keeping a drink of some kind with me at all times, to give an illusion of intake. However, I will try to keep these calorie counts down as well. Mostly water, maybe a little bit of VitaminWater, a sip or two of soymilk for breakfast, and coke zero if I MUST have caffeination. But no food. Until at least midnight tomorrow (Monday night).

I’m already anticipating the high!! And looking forward to telling ya’ll how it went. God, I hope I get away with this. Depending on how it goes, who knows what I might do after this?

Who’s fasting with me? 30 hours food-free! Let’s do it! Think beautiful thoughts, girls! XOXO!

Sunday, July 19, 2009

 

After a very stressful few weeks, and a very naughty weekend, I am feeling quite… (how shall we say) unqualified to fit into my skinny jeans this week. 

So, now that I feel like a lot of the heat has let off, it’s time for a good old-fashioned FAST. Just a little one, to see if anyone notices. It’s 6 pm here on the east coast, and I have a party to go to tonight, followed by 2 auditions tomorrow, and another party tomorrow night. Evenings are usually my gym-time, so without an outlet for my persistent anxiety, I feel like I’d rather control my food intake if I can’t get a grip on my energy output.

To keep eyebrows from raising, I’m going to try to keep pushing the fluids, keeping a drink of some kind with me at all times, to give an illusion of intake. However, I will try to keep these calorie counts down as well. Mostly water, maybe a little bit of VitaminWater, a sip or two of soymilk for breakfast, and coke zero if I MUST have caffeination. But no food. Until at least midnight tomorrow (Monday night).

I’m already anticipating the high!! And looking forward to telling ya’ll how it went. God, I hope I get away with this. Depending on how it goes, who knows what I might do after this?

Who’s fasting with me? 30 hours food-free! Let’s do it! Think beautiful thoughts, girls! XOXO!

Posted by Ana at 5:39 PM 97 comments

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

I’ve been reading Marya’s book again. The last time I read it, it triggered me into a summer of long-term fasts (lost 20 pounds in 3 months), so I’m wondering what will happen to me now that “I’ve been rehabilitated.” It’s such a wonderful account of her journey. Those of you who’ve commented that you enjoy reading my stuff, I HIGHLY recommend you read this book. She’s a fucking fantastic writer. She’s a freakin’ phenom, and I aspire to be her one day.

I’m not in ana-mode right now. No. Not that I don’t want to. I’ve been back out on my own for several months now, but I’m still not entirely sure that I’m not being watched. But I can see the ana creeping back in. I’m back to my daily routine-making, gaining control. I’ve been having a bowl of cereal for breakfast (300 cals), a salad for lunch (440 cals), and a latte for dinner (260 cals), followed by 8-10 miles at the gym (950 cals) every day for the past few weeks. Some days work has gotten in the way, and I’ve had to switch to have the latte for lunch and the salad for dinner. And weekends are way harder when I’m out with friends. But for the most part I’ve been able to stick to it.

I’m not weighing myself. The scale is in the bathroom, and it’s a struggle in my head every morning deciding whether to look or not. I don’t want to know. I just know that I’m not even close to my all-time low weight, so I know I’ll hate myself and relaspe for sure if I look. I’m scared to look. But I’m dying to know. I hate myself.

A little bit of trauma in my life lately. Same boy who left me for “fat cow”, then broke up with her in November just shortly after I got sent away, then tried to get back with me when I got out… hasn’t talked to me for about 3 months. I was ok with that. Until last week when he randomly decided to call me up for dinner, only to let me know that he’d met another girl and he’s going to marry her. (SFX bomb-drop) Not that I ever really expected to marry him, but shit. Who decides to marry someone after only 3 or 4 dates? Apparently he does.

So yeah, that’s been a little bit triggering. Had a helluva 11-mile run at the gym that night. But unfortunately that tipped me over the edge: I twisted my right hip and it’s been aggravated since, keeping me from going to the gym the past 5 days. So trauma is just that much more… shitty.

I hate this life. Why do I bother to persist?

Secret to Brittny Gastineau’s success? Try anorexia

Posted Oct 22nd 2007 4:58PM by Anne Metz on Styledash.com

There’s a zen koan that says if you meet the Buddha on the road, kill him.

Now I don’t know anything about meeting Buddha, but I can say that if you meet a model on the road who says she loves to eat, don’t believe her — especially if she’s ex-reality TV-star Brittny Gastineau.

The raven-haired Gastineau recently told Jay Leno’s “Ross the Intern” that she stayed thin through anorexia.

Was she kidding? Well, if you trace Gastineau’s incredible weight loss over the past year (I don’t — I honestly didn’t know who she was until thirty minutes ago), you’d probably conclude that she was speaking the truth. But still, the confession seems awfully weird.

One thing is certain, admitting to an eating disorder is not a good way to jump start a modeling career, which her friends say is the motivation behind her shrinking frame. Even though most agents and designers would be chomping at the bit to get a 5’11 girl who weighs just 105 pounds, I doubt anyone is willing to touch her now that she’s publicly admitted she’s an anorexic. The fashion industry can’t continue to exist as it is without putting forth the illusion that models its healthy and naturally thin. The fact is once a model says she’s sick, the gig’s up.
……………………………………………………………

I’m sorry, but this is just stupidity at its best. I’m happy for her, glad that she’s lost such huge amounts of weight, that she’s had the willpower to stay with it for so long. But why the HELL would you flush it all away by openly admitting on NATIONAL television that you did it with anorexia???

Let this be a lesson, girls. KEEP YOUR ANONYMITY AT ALL COSTS. Keep the secret. That’s exactly WHY we have these blogs and facebook profiles and none of us use our real name. It’s only truly WORKING if you can still smile and say, “I’m just blessed with a fast metabolism.”

Ugh.

Nicole – Ana gets your joke and LUVS it!!!!!!!

Nicole Richie: ‘Weight-Limit’ E-Mail Was a Joke

Nicole Richie sent friends what she thought was a humorous e-mail invitation to her Memorial Day barbecue – and she can’t understand why people don’t get the joke.

“Let’s glorify this day in your sluttiest tops and your tightest pair of Tsubi jeans, even though we have no clue what Memorial Day really means!!” she wrote. “There will be a scale at the front door. No girls over 100 pounds allowed in. Start starving yourself now. See you all then!!!”

The e-mail was quickly leaked to bloggers, who read it to mean that Richie was making fun of both Memorial Day and her own ongoing weight issues (she said last year she was seeking treatment for what her rep called an inability to put on weight).

But Richie, 25, told Ryan Seacrest on his KIIS-FM radio show Wednesday that she can’t understand the fallout: “I mean, it rhymes. Are you really going to take an e-mail that rhymes that seriously? And it’s a private e-mail to my friends. I was joking and I don’t think there’s anything wrong with it.”

The e-mail was hardly the biggest newsmaker of the holiday weekend, however: Mischa Barton became sick at Richie’s barbecue and was briefly hospitalized for what her rep described as a bad reaction to medication she was taking for bronchitis.

When Seacrest said he’d heard a news report that Barton was rushed to the hospital after mixing alcohol and antibiotics, Richie answered, “I went to Ralph’s [grocery store] because I wanted Sunny Delight. So I actually missed the whole thing.”

Lindsay Lohan also attended the barbecue, but Richie said she didn’t see her there: “I think she was there for five minutes. I was at Ralph’s. No, I really was! I was at Ralph’s for 40 minutes. I saw Mischa, but I missed Lindsay.”

Richie also addressed recent rumors that she had entered rehab, saying the stories got started merely because she hadn’t been photographed by paparazzi for a few weeks.

“The truth was is that I was on tour with Joel [Madden] and we were in random city after random city,” she said.

Saturday, April 21, 2007

Hail Saint Ana Nicole

THIS is what I mean by successful anorexia… getting thinner and thinner, yet staying alive and keeping it hidden from the entire world.

People magazine has done a great job of keeping up with Nicole’s latest scheme to hide her disease. Back in November, Nicole looked like this…
<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
…and publicized that she was “seeking treatment” to determine why she “could not gain weight.” However, she and her entire team [inluding her DUNDERHEAD father!] have made sure to stress that she “does eat” and that she “is NOT being treated for an eating disorder.”

All Hail!!! When you can be in the spotlight every single day, out at all the biggest public arenas, constantly hounded by paparazzi, and yet STILL hide your E.D. from the WWOORRLLDD!!!!

You are the QUEEN of the Anas!!!!

Here’s some of the articles People has been publishing:
11/3/06 – Inside Nicole Richie’s Weight Crisis

11/30/06 – Nicole Richie’s Road to Recovery

3/3/07 – Nicole Richie Treated for Dehydration

3/21/07 – Rep Says Nicole Richie Is Hypoglycemic


Then, just days after “seeking treatment,” this picture of her “five pounds heavier” appears: >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Nicole, my ana goddess, those five won’t be hard to take off… you still look great, and you’ve managed to get everyone off your back! You are my THINspiration!!!

Friday, April 20, 2007

More saints…


Once photos of Courtney Love in a bikini surfaced, fans, reporters and bloggers alike wondered how she dropped so many pounds so fast. Some speculated Gastric-band surgery (her rep denied it), she says inspiration by “Oprah.”

Or could it be Ana?…

Saint Ana Allegra >>>

In a statement, Donatella Versace and Paul Beck said their daughter Allegra Versace “has been battling anorexia, a very serious disease, for many years.”

<<< Saint Ana Chloe

Actress Chloe Lattanzi, daughter of Olivia Newton-John, recently admitted to her struggle with the debilitating eating disorder.

And the Ana queen herself! All Hail!

Despite fainting spells, a super-skinny frame and much speculation, Nicole Richie has repeatedly denied that she suffers from any eating disorder.

Nicole, you are my patron saint! Saint Ana Nicole!!!

[3]


Sources accessed 26/11/2010:

[1] http://pro-thinspo.com/proanatipsandtricksindexpage.html

[2] https://susannaconnollycmp.files.wordpress.com/2010/11/proana6.jpg?w=300

[3]http://anaregzig.blogspot.com/

